NAP MFA Annual (#99) Sneak Peek

The New American Paintings, MFA Annual, Issue #99, is now hitting newsstands across the US. It is expected to ship to subscribers in the next 1 to 2 weeks, so keep an eye out. The juror for the MFA Annual was Alma Ruiz, Senior Curator, Museum of Contemporary Art, Los Angeles, CA.

The MFA Annual is one of our most highly anticipated issues. It contains artists that have recently completed their Masters of Fine Arts studies within the last year, or are current MFA candidates. Over 100 art schools from all over the country were represented in this competition. We think Ms. Ruiz nicely sums up our excitement for this particular publication by stating in her essay that, "Although the work and its synonyms –"hazard," "jeopardy," and "peril" – seem to connote something negative, I prefer to think of it in terms of opportunity or chance. Why shouldn't an art student be willing to take risks in graduate school? It is the ideal place for exploring seemingly endless possibilities..." -- View a list of all featured artists and schools, and see a few more sneak peeks pictures after the jump!

You can pre-order the issue for the newsstand price of $20 by calling 617-778-5265 ext.0

MFA Annual Cover, Artist: Benjamin Rogers

#99 Featured Artists:

Charley Alexander, Otis College of Art and Design
Korakrit Arunanondchai, Columbia University
Kari Breitigam, Indiana State University
Marylene Camacho, California College of the Arts
Kristin Cammermeyer, Cranbrook Academy of Art
Caitlin Cherry, Columbia University
Aurelien Couput, Columbia University
Andrea Ferrigno, University of Iowa
Eric Bashan German, Kendall College of Art and Design
Rachel Grobstein, Rhode Island School of Design
Andrew Hendrixson, University of Florida
Laura Gerber Hudson, Maryland Institute College of Art
Will Hutnick, Pratt Institute
Hwan Jahng, School of Visual Arts
Joe Lloyd, Claremont Graduate University
Katie Loomis, School of the Art Institute of Chicago
Cameron Luft, Arizona State University
Erica Mahinay, Cranbrook Academy of Art
Perry B. Marks, Claremont Graduate University
Karmimadeebora McMillan, School of the Museum of Fine Arts
Francisco Moreno, Rhode Island School of Design
Evan Nesbit, Yale University
Tameka Norris, Yale University
Frank Oriti, Ohio University
Ronny Quevedo,Yale University
Spencer Rabin, San Francisco Art Institute
Michelle Ramin, San Francisco Art Institute
Shane Rodems, Indiana University
Benjamin Rogers, Arizona State University
Daniel B. Román/Bernardo da Bicci, Temple University
Harry William Sidebotham II, Illinois State University
Britt Spencer, Savannah College of Art and Design
Blayre Stiller, University of North Texas
Eric Sweet, University of Missouri
Matthew Trygve Tung, Hunter College
Amanda Valdez, Hunter College
Rafael Vega, School of the Art Institute of Chicago
Karin Waskiewicz, Iowa University
R. Scott Whipkey, Virginia Commonwealth University
Jave Gakumei Yoshimoto, Syracuse University